Spaghetti Squash meets Hash brown casserole…

 

 

A few summers ago I was introduced to hash brown casserole at a BBQ good friends of mine were having, and I became addicted….. However I started having to eat healthy, and sadly hash brown casserole did not fit into this new healthy eating :(….

 

Then I came across this…. http://detoxinista.com/2013/02/cheesy-spaghetti-squash-casserole/ and thought I had died and gone to heaven.  So I took the recipe and adapted it to stuff I had on hand.

To start off this recipe I split two small spaghetti squash in half, seeded them, placed them on a baking tray cut side down and baked until tender.  Then I let cool enough so that I could handle it and took out all the flesh with a fork and that is what you see in the purple bowl below….

Image

After I gathered my ingredients, I diced my onion, 

Image

and sautéed it in some butter with this really cool garlic I found at the local famers market, it’s called pearl garlic, and you eat it peel and all… A little of this stuff goes a LONG way …..

Image

While the onions and garlic were cooking away I grated cheese… And I have realized while writing this blog that It looks like I use a hell of a lot of cheese….. Which I do, but I don’t use as much as one would assume, when buying regular cheddar cheese I use ‘old’ cheddar. The stronger taste of the old cheddar lets me use less but still get the same flavour as if I was using A LOT of cheese! 

Image

Once the onions were done I threw them in with the cooked squash 

Image

Along with the greek yogurt which is amazing for you!!! Lots of protein! And not as much fat as sour cream! 

Image

 

AND THE CHEESE! 

Image

 

Once mixed dump into a greased baking dish and smooth the top so it bakes evenly… 

Image

Top with the remainder cheese 

Image

And bake until hot, bubbly, and golden! 

Image

This was AMAZING, totally reminiscent of  the hash brown casserole that I fell in love with so many years ago, and way better for you!  The texture reminded me of shredded hash browns, and I could eat this every meal for a week!

Image

As always please feel free to shoot me a message if you have any questions, comments, or concerns!, And let me know if you make this recipe, and any changes that you may make to it to make it your own!

 

Leave a Reply

